Barry Bergdoll, Meyer Schapiro Professor of Modern Architectural History at Columbia University, became a member of the Jury of the Third International Golden Trezzini Awards for Architecture and Design.

“At a moment when nationalism is on the rise everywhere and the value of global exchange has been brought into question, the Golden Trezzini Awards reminds us that the culture of architecture has historically been enriched by international exchange”, professor Bergdoll says, “Modern Russian architecture has been deeply indebted to interchange with other European building cultures, including France, Britain, Italy, and the Ticino region of Switzerland, a region whose masons and architects had an outsized influence as they traveled from Rome to St. Petersburg. Striking the balance between local traditions and needs and an international exchange of ideas is today one of the most important balancing acts as architecture faces new challenges in every domain from climate to health to combating social inequalities. I retain a faith that thoughtful architecture and urban design can make a very significant contribution to the quality of life in communities at all scales. For all these reasons I am delighted to join in the discernment and recognition already established as a hallmark of the Golden Trezzini Awards”.

Barry Bergdoll is a Meyer Schapiro Professor of Modern Architectural History at Columbia University and Curator in the Department of Architecture and Design at the Museum of Modern Art, where from 2007—2013 he served as Philip Johnson Chief Curator of Architecture and Design. At MoMA he organized, curated, and consulted on several major exhibitions of 19th and 20th-century architecture, including “Latin America in Construction: Architecture 1955—1980” (2015) and “Henri Labrouste: Structure Brought to Light” (2013), as well as more recently (with Jennifer Gray), “Frank Lloyd Wright at 150: Unpacking the Archive” (2017) and the earlier “Frank Lloyd Wright and the City: Density vs. Dispersal” (2014). He is author or editor of numerous publications, including Latin America in Construction: Architecture 1955—1980 (with Carlos Eduardo Comas, Jorge Francisco Liernur, and Patricio del Real; 2015); Henri Labrouste: Structure Brought to Light (with Corinne Bélier and Marc Le Coeur, 2012); Bauhaus 1919—1933: Workshops for Modernity (with Leah Dickerman, 2010); Home Delivery: Fabricating the Modern Dwelling (2008); Mies in Berlin (2001); Karl Friedrich Schinkel: An Architecture for Prussia (1994); Léon Vaudoyer: Historicism in the Age of Industry (1994); and European Architecture 1750—1890, in the Oxford History of Art series (2001).

He served as President of the Society of Architectural Historians from 2006—2008, Slade Professor of Fine Art at Cambridge University in winter 2011, and in 2013 delivered the 62nd A.W. Mellon Lectures in the Fine Arts at the National Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C., and Cathedra Borromini at the Accademia di Architettura in Mendrisio (Ticino) in 2018-19. He is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and an honorary fellow of both the American Institute of Architects (New York Chapter) and the Royal Institute of British Architects. He is currently the President of the Board of the Center for Architecture in New York.

The Golden Trezzini Awards for Architecture and Design has been taking place since 2018, supported by the Representative Office of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs for the Russian Federation in St. Petersburg, the Embassy of Russia in Switzerland, the Embassy of Switzerland in Russia, the Union of Architects of Russia and other institutions.

The main objective of the Awards is to acknowledge and promote architectural and designer projects which can be referred to as artwork in terms of the artistic value.

The work of the Golden Trezzini Awards is overseen by the International Council, which is honorary chaired by Mikhail Piotrovsky, President of the World Club of Petersburgers, General Director of the State Hermitage. The objective of the International Council is to promote architectural diplomacy, connecting countries across the globe through participation of their architects, designers, renovators, and students in the annual competition, as well as other events, consolidated under the name of Domenico Trezzini (1670–1734), the first architect of St. Petersburg originating from Switzerland.

Along with professor Bergdoll, the Awards Jury includes more than 140 members from around the world, comprising such world-famous architects as Daniel Libeskind, Massimiliano Fuksas and Toyo Ito.

Entries for the 3rd Golden Trezzini can be submitted at through October 15, 2020. Participation in the Awards is free of charge.

The General Partner of the Golden Trezzini Awards is the State Museum of St. Petersburg History. The System Partner is RBI Group. The Official Awarding Partner is LenRusStroy Building Corporation. To see a full list of the Awards partners, please, check:

Partners of the Awards

Under the patronage of

Supported by

Partner of the ceremony

General museum partner

Strategic museum partner

Strategic partner of the awarding

Official partner of the Gala evening

Official partner of the Gala evening

Title partner

General Internet partner

General Media partner of the Awarding ceremony

Strategic Media partner

Complete list of partners

Official partners

Media partners