The Honorary Chairman of the International Council of the Awards is Mikhail Piotrovsky >>

The Golden Trezzini Awards for Architecture and Design are named after Domenico Trezzini (1670—1734), Russian architect of Swiss origin, the first architect of St. Petersburg, author of the Peter and Paul Cathedral, Twelve Collegia Building and other masterpieces of Petrine Baroque. The Awards have been taking place since 2018, under the patronage of the Municipality of the City of Lugano and supported by the Representative Office of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation in St. Petersburg, the Embassy of Russia in Switzerland, the Embassy of Switzerland in Russia, the Consulate General of Switzerland in St. Petersburg, Department of Culture and Tourism — Abu Dhabi, Glavgosexpertiza of Russia, Architecture Council of Moscow, the Committee on Urban Planning and Architecture (KGA), the State Committee on Control, Use and Protection of Historical and Cultural Landmarks (KGIOP), the World Club of St. Petersburgers, the Union of Architects of Russia, the Union of Renovators of Russia, St. Petersburg State University of Architecture and Civil Engineering (SPbGASU), and a number of other organisations and institutions.

The motto of the Awards is 'Architecture as Art'.

The Awards mission is to establish a new expert community that will bring together architectural, design, renovation and museum professionals along with diplomatic, business, media, state, and academic representatives, and people of art.

The main objective of the Awards is to acknowledge and promote architectural and designer projects that amount to works of art.

Entries for 20 nominations of the Third Golden Trezzini were being accepted from April 15 till October 15, 2020. Besides, special prize from YIT for the Best Organisation of Architectural Environment for Sustainable Urban Development, special Lazar Khidekel Prize for the Best Innovative Architectural Project, and Premio del Pubblico (People's Choice Award) are to be awarded.

We invited nominees from all over the world: developers and planners, architects and renovators, designers and interior decorators, as well as students of architecture schools and departments. 

The Golden Trezzini Awards 2020 were arranged in two stages. Finalists of the first stage were shortlisted by the Qualification Committee from May 15 through November 2. The finalists were announced on November 5. As from November 6, projects submitted by the finalists were being evaluated by the international Jury. The Jury voted online, and was be audited by the Borenius legal company.

The Awards winners were announced and awarded with Golden Trezzini figurines and diplomas during the ceremony which took place in St Petersburg, on December 1, 2020

The Honorary Chairman of the International Council of the Awards is Mikhail Piotrovsky, Director of the State Hermitage. Among the Council’s members, there are HE Mohamed Khalifa Al Mubarak, Chairman of the Department of Culture and Tourism — Abu Dhabi; Marco Borradori, Mayor of the City of Lugano (Switzerland), Richard Armstrong, Director of Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum and Foundation; Timothy Potts, Director of J. Paul Getty Museum; Larry Gagosian, Owner of the Gagosian; Suzanne Pagé, Artistic Director at the Fondation Louis Vuitton, and directors of a number of leading art museums of Russia, the Netherlands, Italy, Germany, Austria, Sweden, and Finland.

The Jury includes worldly famous architects Daniel Libeskind, Mario Botta, Toyo Ito, Ricardo Bofill, Massimiliano Fuksas, Eduardo Souto de Moura, Chief Design Officer of Ferrari Flavio Manzoni, and other experts from 31 countries.

The best projects by competitors will be added to the collection of the Architectural Graphics Fund of the Museum of St. Petersburg History and will take part in an annual exhibition at the Peter and Paul Fortress.

Dates for 2021 Entries will be announced in spring 2021.

The Awards is established by Zolotoy Trezzini Ltd. and arranged by Nash Gorod Ltd.
The State Museum of St Petersburg History is the General Museum Partner of the Awards.
The independent auditor of the Awards is Borenius Attorneys Russia Ltd.


The First Golden Trezzini Awards for Architecture and Design, held in 2018, accepted entries from St. Petersburg and the Leningrad region based participants. The Awards coincided with the 300th Anniversary of the new Russian state administrative bodies establishment – the collegia, which had required a separate building. To select the best construction project, Peter the Great announced the first ever architectural competition. The work submitted by Domenico Trezzini was the best. This was how the globally known memorial of the Petrine Baroque appeared, the Twelve Collegia Building.

In total, 170 projects were submitted for the Awards 2018, and the Jury selected the winners of 10 basic and 2 special categories. The Awarding Ceremony for the winners and awardees of the Golden Trezzini Awards took place in the Naryshkin-Trubetskoy Mansion on November 29, 2018.  

The Second Golden Trezzini Awards (2019) were all-Russian with limited international participation. 350 projects from over 50 cities and regions of Russia, Belorussia, Abkhazia, Great Britain, Latvia, UAE, Finland, and South Korea contested for main prizes at the Second Golden Trezzini Awards.

The winners were awarded certificates and designer Golden Trezzini figurines in the Atrium of the Commandant House within the Peter and Paul Fortress on November 27, 2019.

The Golden Trezzini Awards 2020 became international thanks to the support of the Representative Office of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation in St. Petersburg. In this regard, the International Council of the Awards was established in February 2020. The mission of the International Council is to promote architectural diplomacy, as well as to connect countries across the globe through participation of their architects, designers, renovators, and students in St. Petersburg-based competitions, exhibitions, and conferences, consolidated under the name of Domenico Trezzini (1670–1734).

Full list of the Golden Trezzini Awards 2020 International Council & Jury members >>

744 applications from 59 countries have been sent to the Golden Trezzini competition. International panel of judges examined 60 finalists, submitted by organisations and individuals from 19 countries and selected 20 winners in the main categories. The winners and laureates of certain special prizes were awarded on December 1, 2020, at the Official Hotel of the State Hermitage, St. Petersburg.  

Gilded figurines of Domenico Trezzini, a symbol of dialogue between the world and Russian architectural schools, are become the Oscar for Architecture for which architects from different countries worldwide would love to compete.

We will be happy to answer your questions and provide additional information about the Golden Trezzini Awards. Please contact us by email [email protected].

Partners of the Awards
Global partner

General museum partner

Under the patronage of

Supported by

Strategic partner of the Awarding ceremony
Official partner of the Awarding ceremony

Official partner of the Awarding ceremony

Official partner of the Awarding ceremony

Title partner

System partner
Partner of a special nomination

Partner of a nomination
Official partner of the Awarding ceremony

Official partner of the Awarding ceremony

Official partner of the Awarding ceremony

Official partner of the Awarding ceremony

Official partner of the Awarding ceremony
Partner of the Awarding ceremony
Legal partner
Printing partner

Technical partner of the exhibition

Organizational partner
Official partner in the USA

Official concert partner
Consulting partner
Special partner

Special partner
Special partner

General Media partner of the Awarding ceremony
Strategic Media partner

Exclusive interior partner

Official partners

Media partners